FLINTSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL <u>9TH APRIL 2019</u>

Minutes of the meeting of Flintshire County Council held in the Council Chamber, County Hall, Mold on Tuesday, 9th April 2019.

PRESENT: Councillor Paul Cunningham (Chairman)

Councillors: Bernie Attridge, Janet Axworthy, Glyn Banks, Haydn Bateman, Marion Bateman, Sean Bibby, Chris Bithell, Helen Brown, Derek Butler, Clive Carver, Geoff Collett, Bob Connah, David Cox, Jean Davies, Rob Davies, Ron Davies, Adele Davies-Cooke, Chris Dolphin, Rosetta Dolphin, Ian Dunbar, Andy Dunbobbin, Mared Eastwood, Carol Ellis, David Evans, Veronica Gay, George Hardcastle, David Healey, Gladys Healey, Patrick Heesom, Dave Hughes, Kevin Hughes, Ray Hughes, Dennis Hutchinson, Joe Johnson, Paul Johnson, Christine Jones, Colin Legg, Brian Lloyd, Richard Lloyd, Dave Mackie, Hilary McGuill, Billy Mullin, Ted Palmer, Michelle Perfect, Vicky Perfect, Neville Phillips, Mike Reece, Ian Roberts, Tony Sharps, Aaron Shotton, Paul Shotton, Ralph Small, Ian Smith, Carolyn Thomas, Owen Thomas, Martin White, Andy Williams, David Williams and David Wisinger.

APOLOGIES:

Councillors: Mike Allport, Sian Braun, Cindy Hinds, Andrew Holgate, Rita Johnson, Richard Jones, Tudor Jones, Mike Lowe, Mike Peers and Arnold Woolley.

IN ATTENDANCE:

Chief Executive, Chief Officer (Governance), Chief Officer (Housing and Assets), Chief Officer (Planning and Environment), Chief Officer (Education and Youth), Chief Officer (Streetscene and Transportation), Chief Officer (Social Services), Corporate Finance Manager, Senior Manager Human Resources and Organisational Development, Deputy Monitoring Officer, Democratic Services Manager and Team Leader – Committee Services.

118. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillor Aaron Shotton declared a personal and prejudicial interest in agenda item number 4 – Establishment of a Grievance Committee.

119. ELECTION OF LEADER

The Chairman of the Council sought nominations for the election of Leader, until the Annual Meeting, given the resignation of the current Leader which would take effect from the date of this meeting. He suggested that any nominations be dealt with by way of a recorded vote, which was supported by the requisite 10 Members.

Councillor Bithell proposed Councillor Ian Roberts as Leader of the Council and provided details into Councillor Roberts' background which he felt gave him the required skills and attributes to undertake the role. Councillor Colin Legg seconded the nomination. Councillor Bithell commented in particular on Councillor Roberts being a well-established and long serving senior Councillor who was born, raised and educated in Flint where he still resided. He had been a Member of Flint Town Council for a number of years where he had served as Mayor on three occasions. On being put to the vote, the proposal was carried.

For the proposal:

Councillors: Bernie Attridge, Janet Axworthy, Glyn Banks, Haydn Bateman, Marion Bateman, Sean Bibby, Chris Bithell, Derek Butler, Clive Carver, Geoff Collett, Bob Connah, David Cox, Paul Cunningham, Jean Davies, Rob Davies, Ron Davies, Adele Davies-Cooke, Chris Dolphin, Rosetta Dolphin, Ian Dunbar, Andy Dunbobbin, Mared Eastwood, David Evans, Veronica Gay, David Healey, Gladys Healey, Dave Hughes, Kevin Hughes, Ray Hughes, Dennis Hutchinson, Joe Johnson, Paul Johnson, Christine Jones, Colin Legg, Brian Lloyd, Richard Lloyd, Dave Mackie, Hilary McGuill, Billy Mullin, Ted Palmer, Michelle Perfect, Vicky Perfect, Neville Phillips, Mike Reece, Ian Roberts, Tony Sharps, Aaron Shotton, Paul Shotton, Ralph Small, Ian Smith, Carolyn Thomas, Owen Thomas, Martin White, Andy Williams, David Williams and David Wisinger.

Against the proposal:

None.

Abstentions:

Councillors: Helen Brown, Carol Ellis, George Hardcastle and Patrick Heesom.

Councillor Roberts thanked Councillors Bithell and Legg for their kind words and the support that had been shown to him. He commented on the importance of the services that were provided to the residents of Flintshire on a daily basis and the need for those services to continue to be provided with a demonstration of unity from Members across the Chamber.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Ian Roberts be elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (ACCESS TO INFORMATION) ACT 1985 – TO CONSIDER THE EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded for the remainder of the meeting for the following items by virtue of exempt information under paragraph 16 of Part 4 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended).

120. ESTABLISHMENT OF A GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE

The Chief Officer (Governance) introduced the report which sought approval for a politically balanced Grievance Committee. This was in line with the JNC terms and conditions of employment which applied to the Chief Executive and Chief Officers.

The Committee provided for grievances submitted by senior officers to be heard by Councillors if they could not be resolved by mediation. The Council had received such a grievance and so a Committee needed to be convened. A number of questions were answered on process, the number of Councillors needed to form a Committee, the possibility of including an independent person, the role of the Standards Committee and possible next stages.

RESOLVED:

- (a) That a politically balanced Grievance Committee of 11 Members be formed who can hear the submitted grievance in the event that informal resolution is unsuccessful;
- (b) That members of the Standards Committee be excluded from being on the Grievance Committee;
- (c) That no substitutions be allowed on the Grievance Committee;
- (d) That the Chair to be appointed by the Grievance Committee; and
- (e) That the Chief Officer (Governance) provide advice to Group Leaders about the role of the Committee, its membership and the process which would follow should the grievance not be resolved.

121. MEMBERS OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC IN ATTENDANCE

There was one member of the press and two members of the public in attendance.

(The meeting started at 2.00 p.m. and ended at 3.32 p.m.)

Chairman